Cartwheel Quilt

The purpose of this blog is to share some things I make, give a few tutorials and share what inspires me.

made by marika: The Cartwheel Quilt

This quilt was made for friends who are expecting their first baby in two weeks.  A number of friends from our gang pitched in to pay for the fabric.  I took care of the stitching.

The quit is for a little girl, so I wanted the colours to be feminine, but I certainly didn’t want to limit myself to pink and purple.  I have nothing against pink and purple, but I dislike gender branding by colour.  The quilt fits a twin bed so I hope she’ll hold on to it for a while.

As always, I started with a pile of fabric:

The collection of long, narrow strips of fabric is called a jelly roll.  A standard jelly roll has 40 different fabric strips, all 2.5″ wide and 42″ long.

Buying fabric like this allows you to have a wide variety of patterns in one quilt without breaking the bank on 40 different kinds of fabric.   Most stores require you to buy a minimum length of any given fabric.  Working with a Jelly roll also minimizes scraps, which is also a good thing.

I followed a free online tutorial to make this quilt.  You’ll find the link it at the end of the post.

I had a lot of help from a friend to make this quilt so I finished in record time.  I’ve only made three quilt so it’s not like I’m breaking any real records here.

I thought the quilt was easily assembled, and since I was using a jelly roll, I only had half the cutting to do.  Even then, all the cutting was from the same fabric which also sped up the process.

This is the first quilt I finish machine quilting.  I’m working on one for myself but it’s a long slow process and I only have a fraction finished.

I wanted this quilt to be very soft and flexible so I quit in the ditch (along the seams) so I ended up with 2″ squares like so:

For the backing I used a row of stacked coins.  As I was assembling, I realized I was missing a whole yard of the pink fabric!  The lady at the store didn’t count properly when she cut it!

My improvisation and problem-solving skills were tested and I added the white, made the stacked coins vertical rather than horizontal, and voila!

The vertical stripe and white bands aren’t that bad but they weren’t what I had in mind.  I still think I would have preferred the back without the white, but I like this quilt anyways.

The final step will be to embroyder the little gal’s name and birthdate when we know it.  The parents have the quilt so I’ll pay them a visit one afternoon and sew on the label.

Final measurements: 64″ x 87″.  Pattern by Amanda Jean at crazymomquilts.  Find it here.

Thanks for stopping by!

-marika

One thought on “Cartwheel Quilt

  1. Pingback: Rainbow Quilt | made by marika

Leave a Reply

